1-of-52: Living in Community

IMG_0774I read in an article last week that one of the main reasons that a young Christian leader gets burned out is because they don’t have an outside community speaking into their life. Two years ago I would have seen this and put it in the “maybe I will need this one day” category of my filing cabinet and then never looked at it again. Now I look at this article and am blown away by the idea.
As I have stepped into my role as Community Life Coordinator at LCC Redding, I have realized more and more how crucial community is to life as a follower of Christ. The idea of walking through life with a group of believers who, in their own way, are trying to just get by.
Community isn’t just a weekly list of highs and lows, it isn’t a cup of coffee as we laugh about the awkward moments of walking into walls (I have learned I am really clumsy this past year) though those can be a part of it. It’s about going deep, having real conversations, sharing real struggles, and taking down the walls that we have up in our own lives. Community is real life with real people.
As I am studying this idea of community within the church body, dreaming up ideas about small groups, deeper discipleship and events that promote community, I have realized how I have been going about it in all the wrong ways.
At this point in my life I have been in 17 weddings as a groomsman. 17 tuxes, 17 walks down the isle, 17 rehearsal dinners, 17 receptions. Friendships are there, I am not lacking in friends, but what I am realizing is, though I love each one of these friends, and family members, the deeper side of friendship is lacking. I have taken these friendships for granted, they mean the world to me, but I haven’t let it go past that surface level. There may be a time or two that I start to go deeper, but the walls inside me go up as soon as it goes too far.
As I read this article, and I am reminded of how God created us. God didn’t want Adam to walk this earth alone, so he created Eve (Gen 2:20-22). God in the Garden of Eden created companionship, friendship, relationship. God allowed in that moment for Adam to have someone to share all of who he was with. In the same way God does not want us doing life on our own, He has created community for each one of us.

Hebrews 10:24-25

“And let us consider one another in order to stir up love and good works, not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as is the manner of some, but exhorting one another, and so much the more as you see the Day approaching.”
God did not create us to walk the streets of our town surrounded by people, all while carrying the weight of our world on our shoulders. He created community, people surrounding us to take on this weight, to share our burdens, to cry with us and laugh with us. He created community so that we don’t have to stay in the shallow end of the pool, we can take off our life jacket and dive on in.

IMG_0352
As I walk forward in my roll of Community Life Coordinator at LCC Redding, I am reminded of the community God has placed me in. The friends who are my family, and my family that have become my friends. I am thankful to have friends who know me so well, they no what I say when I have a lot on my heart. I am excited to the body at LCC and encourage those who are in hopeless situations that there is Hope in Jesus, they aren’t alone, and He who created the earth, created a community for them to walk in.
I am in the process of learning what community looks like in my own life. I am realizing that I can’t just stay shallow, but I have to go deep. I must pursue strategic community, those people who I can do life with, going through the trenches of what ever comes up in this adventure we call life. In this community I cannot hold up walls, but remain vulnerable, realizing that it is in the moment’s that we try to do things on our own, we are keeping the body of Christ from working.
I want to encourage you, if you have read this far, don’t try and do life on your own. Get plugged in, find a home fellowship, ask a pastor or another leader at your church. Realize that by holding the world by yourself you are not allowing those around you to fully embrace what God has for them, and you are not allowing God to use you how He plans for you to be used.

Published by

Adam Greg

Community Life Coordinator at LCC Redding. I have a heart for people and community. I believe in Jesus Christ, and am passionate about spreading His truth!

One thought on “1-of-52: Living in Community”

  1. Adam, your words are encouraging. So often I hear the word community now a days but it just seems like the latest church buzz word. Thanks for personalizing and encouraging us to make it so much more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

